MNU Votes: Presidential candidates and Board election dates confirmed

Publish date: Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Mark your calendars! MNU has two important votes approaching.


Candidates for MNU President have been confirmed. Four nominations were submitted to the Nominations and Elections Committee. Nominations closed Monday, January 15. Here are the candidates for president (presented in alphabetical order):

Darlene Jackson
Donna McKenzie
Marguerite Smith
Kellee Stewart-Schuff

Per the MNU Constitution, votes for executive officer positions including President are conducted at the Annual General Meeting. Voting delegates will cast ballots at the AGM on Wednesday, May 2. Results will be announced that day. Campaign rules are outlined in the MNU Handbook under Section C – The People.

A one page article from each candidate will be posted to the MNU Member Portal after February 15.

The successful candidate will be elected to a two year term, running from July 1st, 2018 to June 30th, 2020. In December, MNU President Sandi Mowat announced that she would not seek re-election.

Board of Directors


Elections for representatives on MNU’s Board of Directors will begin February 28, at 12:01am. This year elections will be held for two seats in the Prairie Mountain Region, and one seat in the Interlake-Eastern region.

All MNU members from those regions are eligible to vote.

Candidate information and resumes are available here (login required).

Voting will be conducted online. Voting details are as follows:

Polls open: Wednesday, February 28, 12:01am
Polls close: Thursday, March 1, 4:00pm

Reminders will be circulated in advance of the vote. To vote, you will be required to log in. Have your Member ID ready.

Voting will be conducted by tamper-proof ballot. Once the voter has submitted the ballot, the results are encrypted and kept anonymous. The voter is issued a receipt and is blocked from voting in this election again.

Board members acclaimed

The following members were declared elected by acclamation to the MNU Board of Directors for the term to start May 1st, 2018 to April 30th, 2020:

Northern Region: Amber Mitchell
Southern Region: Tracy Bassa
Winnipeg Long Term Care Region: Karen Tessier
Health Sciences Centre: Kim Fraser
Misericordia/Riverview: Dana Orr
St. Boniface: Kathy Hillstrom


Members Login

Enter your Manitoba Nurses Union ID number.
Enter the password that accompanies your ID number.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
6 + 8 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.